SPOON TRIUMPH: Unzicker Takes Win, Expands Points Lead

SPOON TRIUMPH: Unzicker Takes Win, Expands Points Lead

September 17, 2022 (Lewistown, IL) Round 14 of the Mars Racing Series took place at Spoon River Speedway on Saturday night as part of the Tom Knowles Memorial.  The $3,000 to win event drew 10 drivers.

In Allstar Performance qualifying it was Tucker Finch who put down the quickest lap at 13.310 seconds. This set the stage for two heat races to set the field for the 30 lap event.

In Arizona Sport Shirts Heat Race #1 Ryan Unzicker took the win to start on the pole for the night’s main event. Fast qualifier Tucker Finch finished runner up and Colton Billington third.

Heat Race #2 presented by Dirt Track Bank went to Bloomington, IL driver Jason Feger. McKay Wenger and Myles Moos finished in the second and third positions.

In the 30 lap $3,000 to win event Ryan Unzicker took the lead on the opening lap and never looked back. Jason Feger was able to close in on a couple of occasions but could never get close enough to make a real challenge on Unzcker. Bob Gardner rounded out the podium.  Bob Gardner was the Keyser Manufacturing Hard Charger of the night after improving 4 positions for a top three finish. Ryan Unzicker increased his points lead to 33 points. Bob Gardner took the Sunoco Race Fuels Rookie of the Year points lead by just 1 point. Things are tight in both points battle with just two events left at Fairbury Speedway next month.

The Mars Racing Series will take a couple weeks off before going to Fairbury Speedway for back-to-back nights of racing action for the Mars Championship Weekend. The FALS Frenzy will pay $5,000 to win on Friday night October 7th and $15,000 to win Saturday night October 8th. The Mars Racing Series will crown the 2022 champ at the conclusion of the weekend. Every lap of action can be seen LIVE on FloRacing.

Full Results:

Feature Finish – 1 Ryan Unzicker 2 Jason Feger 3 Bob Gardner 4 McKay Wenger 5 Tucker Finch 6 Colton Billington 7 Brandon Lance 8 Myles Moos 9 Rickey Frankel

Arizona Sport Shirts Heat 1 – 1 Ryan Unzicker 2 Tucker Finch 3 Colton Billington 4 Bob Gardner 5 Rickey Frankel

Dirt Track Bank Heat 2 -1 Jason Feger 2 McKay Wenger 3 Myles Moos 4 Brandon Lance 5 Zac Kuhel

Stay informed on all the news and results of the Mars Racing Series at www.marsracingseries.com.