Last Lap Thriller: Feger’s Slider Lifts Him to Win at Shadyhill

Last Lap Thriller: Feger’s Slider Lifts Him to Win at Shadyhill

August 13, 2022 (Medaryville, IL) Round 8 of the Mars Racing Series took place at Shadyhill Speedway for the lone Indiana stop of 2022. The pits filled up with 21 cars on the beautiful summer night.

In Allstar Performance qualifying it was McKay Wenger who laid down the quickest lap at 15.026 seconds. This set the stage for three heat races to set the field for the 40 lap event.

In Arizona Sport Shirts Heat Race #1 Ryan Unzicker took the win to start on the pole for the nights main event. Fast qualifier McKay Wenger and Justin White were the second and third place finishers.

Heat Race #2 presented by Dirt Track Bank went to series points leader Jason Feger. Rich Dawson and Bradley Jameson came home second and third.

O’Reily Auto Parts Heat Race #3 went to McClure, Ohio driver Rusty Schlenk. Series regular Bob Gardner was second and Nick Allen rounded out the top three.

The 40 lap $5,000 to win feature started out with some intense action as drivers tried to take the preferred line. Bob Gardner spun on the second lap and Nick Allen ramped over his nose and rolled onto his lid. Both drivers were ok. Ryan Unzicker got out to the lead and had as big as a 3 second advantage at times. A middle race stage restart allowed Jason Feger to slide McKay Wenger going into turn one to take over the second spot.

Unzicker and Feger fought through lap traffic as the race came to within ten laps to go. In the final stages of the race Jason Feger tried everything possible to get to the back of Unzicker. On the final lap Feger made a charge off turn two and put a hail mary slider on Unzicker. Feger cleared Unzicker with a clean slider and Ryan tried to cross him back over but came up half a car length shy at the line. 

Ryan Unzicker and McKay Wenger finished in second and third. Tristan Chamberlain was the Keyser Manufacturing Hard Charger Award winner improving 15 spots for a fifth place finish. Jason Feger extends his point lead to 17 points over Ryan Unzicker after 8 events in the books for 2022.

The Mars Racing Series now looks forward to a three day race weekend kicking off Thursday night August 18th at the Dubuque Fairgrounds. Friday night the series will compete at the Kanakakee County Speedway. The trio of races will finish up Saturday night at Lafayette County Speedway. Every lap of action can be seen LIVE on FloRacing.

Race Results:

A Feature 1 (40 Laps): 1. 25F-Jason Feger[2]; 2. 24-Ryan Unzicker[1]; 3. 42-Mckay Wenger[4]; 4. 80-Rich Dawson[5]; 5. 20TC-Tristan Chamberlain[20]; 6. 91-Rusty Schlenk[3]; 7. 34-Herb Reich[12]; 8. 60-Mike Martin[10]; 9. 92-Lynn Johns[15]; 10. 21K-Jacob Kolwyck[16]; 11. 45-Travis Abbott[11]; 12. (DNF) 8-Dan Richardson[14]; 13. (DNF) 6-Toma Johnson[18]; 14. (DNF) 74X-Harrison Oliver[17]; 15. (DNF) 25-Ted Johnson[13]; 16. (DNF) 88D-Jordan Danford[19]; 17. (DNF) 757-Bradley Jameson[8]; 18. (DNF) 4-Bob Gardner[6]; 19. (DNF) 21A-Nick Allen[9]; 20. (DNF) 20W-Justin White[7]; 21. (DNF) 74-Dan DeLong[21]

Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. 24-Ryan Unzicker[2]; 2. 42-Mckay Wenger[1]; 3. 20W-Justin White[3]; 4. 60-Mike Martin[4]; 5. 25-Ted Johnson[5]; 6. 21K-Jacob Kolwyck[6]; 7. 88D-Jordan Danford[7]

Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. 25F-Jason Feger[1]; 2. 80-Rich Dawson[2]; 3. 757-Bradley Jameson[4]; 4. 45-Travis Abbott[5]; 5. 8-Dan Richardson[6]; 6. 74X-Harrison Oliver[7]; 7. 20TC-Tristan Chamberlain[3]

Heat 3 (10 Laps): 1. 91-Rusty Schlenk[1]; 2. 4-Bob Gardner[2]; 3. 21A-Nick Allen[3]; 4. 34-Herb Reich[4]; 5. 92-Lynn Johns[5]; 6. 6-Toma Johnson[6]; 7. 74-Dan DeLong[7]

Qualifying 1: 1. 42-Mckay Wenger, 00:15.026[13]; 2. 25F-Jason Feger, 00:15.192[18]; 3. 91-Rusty Schlenk, 00:15.327[1]; 4. 24-Ryan Unzicker, 00:15.376[20]; 5. 80-Rich Dawson, 00:15.399[9]; 6. 4-Bob Gardner, 00:15.416[2]; 7. 20W-Justin White, 00:15.422[11]; 8. 20TC-Tristan Chamberlain, 00:15.518[14]; 9. 21A-Nick Allen, 00:15.561[3]; 10. 60-Mike Martin, 00:15.586[16]; 11. 757-Bradley Jameson, 00:15.744[17]; 12. 34-Herb Reich, 00:15.928[19]; 13. 25-Ted Johnson, 00:16.176[12]; 14. 45-Travis Abbott, 00:16.200[5]; 15. 92-Lynn Johns, 00:16.308[15]; 16. 21K-Jacob Kolwyck, 00:16.454[6]; 17. 8-Dan Richardson, 00:16.540[8]; 18. 6-Toma Johnson, 00:16.685[10]; 19. 88D-Jordan Danford, 00:16.690[7]; 20. 74X-Harrison Oliver, 00:18.704[21]; 21. (DNS) 74-Dan DeLong, 00:18.704

Hot Laps 1: 1. 20TC-Tristan Chamberlain, 00:14.976[14]; 2. 34-Herb Reich, 00:15.086[19]; 3. 80-Rich Dawson, 00:15.141[9]; 4. 20W-Justin White, 00:15.146[11]; 5. 24-Ryan Unzicker, 00:15.156[20]; 6. 91-Rusty Schlenk, 00:15.222[1]; 7. 21A-Nick Allen, 00:15.257[3]; 8. 25F-Jason Feger, 00:15.332[18]; 9. 4-Bob Gardner, 00:15.334[2]; 10. 757-Bradley Jameson, 00:15.530[17]; 11. 42-Mckay Wenger, 00:15.560[13]; 12. 25-Ted Johnson, 00:15.636[12]; 13. 92-Lynn Johns, 00:16.326[15]; 14. 45-Travis Abbott, 00:16.352[5]; 15. 21K-Jacob Kolwyck, 00:16.499[6]; 16. 8-Dan Richardson, 00:16.631[8]; 17. 88D-Jordan Danford, 00:17.099[7]; 18. 74X-Harrison Oliver, 00:18.193[21]; 19. 74-Dan DeLong, 00:18.484[4]; 20. 60-Mike Martin, 00:18.770[16]

Stay informed on all the news and results of the Mars Racing Series at