FEGER RISING: Feger Holds Off Unzicker for Kimler Memorial Win

FEGER RISING: Feger Holds Off Unzicker for Kimler Memorial Win

July 22, 2022 (Farmer City, IL) The 2022 Mars Racing Series kicked off the second half of the race season with the JR Kimler Memorial at Farmer City Raceway paying $3,000 to win.  The pits filled up with 19 cars on the warm summer night during the Dewitt County Fair.

In Allstar Performance qualifying it was Bob Gardner who laid down the quickest lap at 12.535 seconds. This set the stage for a pair of heat races to set the field for the 30 lap event.

In O’Riley Auto Parts Heat Race #1 Bob Gardner took the win with Ryan Unzicker and Logan Moody the top three finishers.

Heat Race #2 presented by Dirt Track Bank went to defending Kimler Memorial winner McKay Wenger. Kevin Weaver and Jason Feger came home second and third.

The 30 lap $3,000 to win feature was full great racing. Bob Gardner, the pole sitter, took the lead early on in this one. McKay Wenger and Ryan Unzicker tried to run down Gardner in the first half of the race but just couldn’t seem to get the job done to take the lead. Right before the halfway point Ryan Unzicker was able to use the bottom side of turn 2 to get a run. Unzicker was able to over take Gardner for the lead. The final stages of the race was highlighted by Jason Feger charging from his sixth starting spot to pass Unzicker for the lead. In the final couple laps Feger had to deal with lap traffic and Unzicker was able to mount a last lap charge. Unzicker made every effort but came up just a car length short as they took the checkers. 

Ryan Unzicker and McKay Wenger finished in second and third. Justin Duty was the Keyser Manufacturing Hard Charger Award winner improving 10 spots for a eighth place finish. 

The Mars Racing Series event scheduled for Saturday July 23rd has been postponed due to exceedingly hot temps. That race will be made up on September 17th.  The series will return to action this Tuesday July 26th at the Davenport Speedway for the $10,000 to win Hoker 50. Last year’s event was voted the DirtonDirt.com’s 2021 Race of the Year. Every lap of action can be seen LIVE on FloRacing.

Race Results:

K & S Furniture Feature 1 (30 Laps): 1. 25-Jason Feger[6]; 2. 24-Ryan Unzicker[3]; 3. 42-Mckay Wenger[2]; 4. 4G-Bob Gardner[1]; 5. 21-Billy Moyer Sr[9]; 6. T6-Tommy Sheppard Jr[10]; 7. B12-Kevin Weaver[4]; 8. 15-Justin Duty[18]; 9. 89-Mike Spatola[7]; 10. 33 4-Billy Hough[15]; 11. 30-Mike Glasscock[13]; 12. 17A-Austin Howes[11]; 13. 1-Tom Thoennes[14]; 14. (DNF) 28-Ron Donaldson[12]; 15. (DNF) 21A-Nick Allen[17]; 16. (DNF) 53-Curtis Hobbs[16]; 17. (DNF) 38J-Jake Little[8]; 18. (DNF) 162-Logan Moody[5]

O’Riley Auto Parts Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 4G-Bob Gardner[1]; 2. 24-Ryan Unzicker[4]; 3. 162-Logan Moody[2]; 4. 89-Mike Spatola[3]; 5. 21-Billy Moyer Sr[5]; 6. 17A-Austin Howes[8]; 7. 30-Mike Glasscock[7]; 8. 33 4-Billy Hough[9]; 9. (DNS) 21A-Nick Allen

Dirt Track Bank Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 42-Mckay Wenger[1]; 2. B12-Kevin Weaver[2]; 3. 25-Jason Feger[3]; 4. 38J-Jake Little[4]; 5. T6-Tommy Sheppard Jr[5]; 6. 28-Ron Donaldson[8]; 7. 1-Tom Thoennes[7]; 8. 53-Curtis Hobbs[9]; 9. (DNF) 15-Justin Duty[6]

Allstar Performance Qualifying 1 (2 Laps): 1. 4G-Bob Gardner, 00:12.535[17]; 2. 42-Mckay Wenger, 00:12.653[2]; 3. 162-Logan Moody, 00:12.748[9]; 4. B12-Kevin Weaver, 00:12.764[13]; 5. 89-Mike Spatola, 00:12.800[16]; 6. 25-Jason Feger, 00:12.821[4]; 7. 24-Ryan Unzicker, 00:12.827[11]; 8. 38J-Jake Little, 00:12.903[15]; 9. 21-Billy Moyer Sr, 00:12.911[10]; 10. T6-Tommy Sheppard Jr, 00:12.921[5]; 11. 21A-Nick Allen, 00:12.982[7]; 12. 15-Justin Duty, 00:12.984[18]; 13. 30-Mike Glasscock, 00:13.024[14]; 14. 1-Tom Thoennes, 00:13.094[6]; 15. 17A-Austin Howes, 00:13.271[8]; 16. 28-Ron Donaldson, 00:13.294[3]; 17. 33 4-Billy Hough, 00:13.330[1]; 18. 53-Curtis Hobbs, 00:14.145[12]

Stay informed on all the news and results of the Mars Racing Series at www.marsracingseries.com.