Back-to-Back for O’Neal in Hoker 50

Back-to-Back for O’Neal in Hoker 50

July 26, 2022 (Davenport, IA) The Mars Racing Series returned to the Davenport Speedway for the 2nd Annual Hoker 50 Tuesday night. The event paying $10,000 to win was a barn burner last year and drew a start studded field including Jonathan Davenport, Hudson O’Neal, Devin Moran, and many others. 

In Allstar Performance qualifying it was Devin Moran who set a NEW track record with a lap at 13.333 seconds. Hudson O’Neal was quickest in the opposite group with a time of 13.350 seconds. This set the stage for four heat races to start setting the field for the 50 lap event.

In Arizona Sport Shirts Heat Race #1 Hudson O’Neal took the win with Bobby Pierce, Devin Moran, and Max Blair taking transfer spots.

Heat Race #2 presented by Dirt Track Bank went to Mike Marlar. Chris Simpson, Jimmy Owens and Ryan Unzicker came home in transfer spots.

Fast qualifier Devin Moran won Heat Race #3 presented by O’Reilly Auto Parts. The other drivers who moved on to the feature event were Jonathan Davenport, Jeff Larson, and Rich Bell.

Hoosier Tire Midwest sponsored Heat Race #4 went to Gordy Gundaker from St. Charles, MO. Max Blair, Jason Feger, and Frank Heckenast Jr. all transferred to the feature event.

The Racing Performance Media B-Main went to Nick Hoffman from Mooresville, NC.

The 50 lap $10,000 to win feature was plagued by yellow flags in the early stages. Hudson O’Neal, the pole sitter, took the lead early on in this one. Mike Marlar, Jonathan Davenport, & Devin Moran were all challengers in the top five early on. During the middle stages Bobby Pierce made his presence known challenging O’Neal during a couple of restarts and trying to run him down in the final laps. The track took rubber the final few circuits and O’Neal was able to slide up into the top groove and block Pierce and Moran’s charge on the top side. Ryan Unzicker was the highest finishing Mars regular with a sixth place finish. Points leader Jason Feger finished tenth.

Justin Kay was the Keyser Manufacturing Hard Charger Award winner improving 13 spots for a seventh place finish. 

The series will return to action Saturday night August 13th at the Shadyhill Speedway for $5,000 to win. Every lap of action can be seen LIVE on FloRacing.

Race Results:

Hoker Trucking A Feature 1 (50 Laps): 1. 71-Hudson O’Neal[1]; 2. 32P-Bobby Pierce[5]; 3. 9-Devin Moran[3]; 4. 111V-Max Blair[8]; 5. 157-Mike Marlar[2]; 6. 24-Ryan Unzicker[14]; 7. 15K-Justin Kay[20]; 8. 32S-Chris Simpson[6]; 9. 99L-Jeff Larson[11]; 10. 25F-Jason Feger[12]; 11. 2-Nick Hoffman[17]; 12. 1R-Josh Richards[23]; 13. T6-Tommy Sheppard Jr[22]; 14. 11T-Trevor Gundaker[21]; 15. 11-Gordy Gundaker[4]; 16. 99-Dylan Thompson[19]; 17. 21B-Rich Bell[15]; 18. 4G-Bob Gardner[18]; 19. 49-Jonathan Davenport[7]; 20. 99JR-Frank Heckenast Jr[16]; 21. 22-Charlie McKenna[27]; 22. 9Z-Mason Zeigler[13]; 23. 99B-Boom Briggs[9]; 24. 6M-Jeff Massingill[24]; 25. 20-Jimmy Owens[10]; 26. 42-Johnathan Huston[26]; 27. 44W-David Webster[28]; 28. (DNS) 93-Jay Johnson

Racing Performance Media B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 2-Nick Hoffman[2]; 2. 4G-Bob Gardner[3]; 3. 99-Dylan Thompson[5]; 4. 15K-Justin Kay[10]; 5. 1R-Josh Richards[8]; 6. 6M-Jeff Massingill[1]; 7. 93-Jay Johnson[6]; 8. 42-Johnathan Huston[9]; 9. 22-Charlie McKenna[7]; 10. 44W-David Webster[12]; 11. 11T-Trevor Gundaker[4]; 12. T6-Tommy Sheppard Jr[11]

Arizona Sport Shirts Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. 71-Hudson O’Neal[1]; 2. 32P-Bobby Pierce[2]; 3. 99B-Boom Briggs[3]; 4. 9Z-Mason Zeigler[5]; 5. 6M-Jeff Massingill[6]; 6. 99-Dylan Thompson[4]; 7. 42-Johnathan Huston[7]

Dirt Track Bank Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. 157-Mike Marlar[1]; 2. 32S-Chris Simpson[3]; 3. 20-Jimmy Owens[4]; 4. 24-Ryan Unzicker[5]; 5. 2-Nick Hoffman[2]; 6. 93-Jay Johnson[6]; 7. 15K-Justin Kay[7]

OReilly Auto Parts Heat 3 (10 Laps): 1. 9-Devin Moran[1]; 2. 49-Jonathan Davenport[3]; 3. 99L-Jeff Larson[2]; 4. 21B-Rich Bell[5]; 5. 4G-Bob Gardner[4]; 6. 22-Charlie McKenna[6]; 7. T6-Tommy Sheppard Jr[7]

Hoosier Tire Midwest Heat 4 (10 Laps): 1. 11-Gordy Gundaker[1]; 2. 111V-Max Blair[2]; 3. 25F-Jason Feger[3]; 4. 99JR-Frank Heckenast Jr[4]; 5. 11T-Trevor Gundaker[6]; 6. 1R-Josh Richards[5]; 7. 44W-David Webster[7]

Allstar Performance Qualifying 1: 1. 71-Hudson O’Neal, 00:13.350[9]; 2. 157-Mike Marlar, 00:13.411[10]; 3. 32P-Bobby Pierce, 00:13.428[7]; 4. 2-Nick Hoffman, 00:13.737[5]; 5. 99B-Boom Briggs, 00:13.746[4]; 6. 32S-Chris Simpson, 00:13.802[8]; 7. 99-Dylan Thompson, 00:13.862[13]; 8. 20-Jimmy Owens, 00:13.891[12]; 9. 9Z-Mason Zeigler, 00:13.896[11]; 10. 24-Ryan Unzicker, 00:13.986[2]; 11. 6M-Jeff Massingill, 00:14.117[6]; 12. 93-Jay Johnson, 00:14.234[1]; 13. 42-Johnathan Huston, 00:14.550[14]; 14. 15K-Justin Kay, 00:14.725[3]

Allstar Performance Qualifying 2: 1. 9-Devin Moran, 00:13.333[4]; 2. 11-Gordy Gundaker, 00:13.501[6]; 3. 99L-Jeff Larson, 00:13.650[8]; 4. 111V-Max Blair, 00:13.671[11]; 5. 49-Jonathan Davenport, 00:13.687[3]; 6. 25F-Jason Feger, 00:13.696[7]; 7. 4G-Bob Gardner, 00:13.719[5]; 8. 99JR-Frank Heckenast Jr, 00:13.785[2]; 9. 21B-Rich Bell, 00:13.839[9]; 10. 1R-Josh Richards, 00:13.922[12]; 11. 22-Charlie McKenna, 00:14.055[1]; 12. 11T-Trevor Gundaker, 00:14.075[13]; 13. T6-Tommy Sheppard Jr, 00:14.153[14]; 14. 44W-David Webster, 00:14.564[10]

Stay informed on all the news and results of the Mars Racing Series at