Windy Hollow Speedway Date Removed from Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Racing Series Schedule

Windy Hollow Speedway Date Removed from Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Racing Series Schedule

SOMERSET, KY (July 22, 2019)—Officials with the Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Racing Series and the Windy Hollow Speedway in Owensboro, Ky. have mutually agreed to cancel the Friday August 2nd event that was scheduled to pay $5,000-to-win.

After consideration regarding the possibility of a low car count, track promoter Jimmy Westerfield and series promoter Chris Tilley have mutually agreed that it wouldn’t be best to have the event in 2019. “When Jimmy and I spoke we felt it best to cancel the event. There’s just not any Super Late Models in the Owensboro area anymore and we didn’t feel that it was fair to the race fans in that area if we couldn’t get enough cars to put on a good show,” stated series promoter Chris Tilley. “Jimmy and his crew are battling weather and other variables that several other promoters have faced this season and we wish him nothing but the best and we really look forward to the opportunity of working with them in the years to come,” said Tilley again.

The next Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Racing Series event will be Saturday Night August 3rd at Brownstown Speedway in Brownstown, Ind. paying $10,000-to-win during the 15th Annual Hall of Fame Classic.

Current Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Super Late Model Racing Series Points (after 5/10/19):

  1. David Seibers-738
  2. Dean Carpenter-724
  3. Jose Parga-672
  4. Allen Weisser-582
  5. Dennis Erb Jr.-562
  6. Brian Shirley-552
  7. Myles Moos-492
  8. Christian Hanger-425
  9. Josh Putnam-386
  10. Mike Vandermark-368


2019 Series Winners/Upcoming MARS Racing Series Events:

March 1-Clarksville Speedway-Brian Shirley

March 2-Clarksville Speedway-David Seibers

April 13-Brownstown Speedway-Devin Gilpin

May 10-Farmer City Raceway-Farmer City, IL-Kent Robinson

July 6-Brownstown Speedway (Brownstown, IN)-Shelby Miles

August 3-Brownstown Speedway (Brownstown, IN)-$10,000 to win

August 16-Tri-City Speedway (Pontoon Beach, IL)-$3,000 to win

August 17-Federated Auto Parts Raceway @ I-55 (Pevely, MO)-$3,000 to win

August 18-Fayette County Speedway (Brownstown, IL)-$3,000 to win