Shirley Makes It a Weekend Sweep

Shirley Makes It a Weekend Sweep

LaSalle, IL (May 24, 2021) – The defending Mars Series Champion Brian Shirley was yet to find victory lane in 2021 through the first four events. That all changed this weekend as the Chatham, IL driver picked up a couple of dominating wins Friday and Saturday night with the series. On Friday night he used the outside front row starting position to grab the lead early and build up an over seven second lead before a late caution gave the field a chance to catch up. Brian pulled away from Mike Spatola to win the 40 lap Big Daddy Scrap 40 at Kankakee County Speedway.

On Saturday night the series made its first ever appearance at the Shadyhill Speedway outside of Medaryville, IN. In Allstar Performance qualifying Shirley broke the track record previously held by John Gill. This put him in position for the easy heat race win and the pole for the feature event. Brian got out front early and never looked back. Shirley won by  two and half seconds over Frank Heckenast Jr.  The Michigan driver Cody Bauer, who raced with the series for the first time this year rounded out the podium.

The series will now set its sights on a pair of $5,o00 to win Memorial Day weekend shows at Fayette County Speedway and Spoon River Speedway. The holiday weekend expects to bring out some higher car counts. You never know who may pull in the gate at a Mars Racing Series event.

Keep up-to-date with all the news and information of the Mars Racing Series at



Friday Kankakee Results

Fast Qualifier – 14.632 seconds

Heat Race #1 – Taylor Scheffler, Cody Bauer, Rusty Schlenk, Ryan Unzicker, Daryn Klein, Jason Feger, Greg Cantrell

Heat Race #2 – Brian Shirly, Mike Mataragas, Mike Spatola, Frank Heckenast, Logan Nickerson, Glen Thompson

Feature (40 laps) – Brian Shirley, Mike Spatola, Taylor Scheffler, Frank Heckenast Jr, Ryan Unzicker, Jason Feger, Mike Mataragas, Cody Bauer, Rusty Schlenk, Logan Nickerson, Daryn Klein, Glen Thompson, Steven Brooks, Greg Cantrell

Contingency Awards:

Allstar Performance Fast Time Award: Taylor Scheffler

VP Fuel Award from Git Sideways: Brian Shirley

Swift Springs Opposing Fast Time Award: Brian Shirley

Keyser Manufacturing Hard Charger Award: Jason Feger

Wilwood Tough Brake Award: Mike Mataragas

Ultrashield Non-Transfer Award: Daryn Klein

Saturday Shadyhill Results

Fast Time: Brian Shirley 14.577 seconds (New Track Record)

Heat #1 – Brian Shirley, Jason Feger, Logan Nickerson, Jace Owens, Britian Godsey, Darren Wireman, Ted Johnson, Dan Deyoung

Heat #2 – Cody Bauer, Frank Heckenast Jr, Kyle Cooper, Kevin Deyong, Lynn Jones, Mike Mataragas, Zach Hall

Feature (40 Laps) – Brian Shirley, Frank Heckenast Jr, Cody Bauer, Jason Feger, Logan Nickerson, Mike Mataragas, Darren Wireman, Britian Godsey, Kyle Cooper, Lynn Johns, Kevin Deyoung, Dan Deyoung, Jace Owens, Zach Hall, Ted Johnson

Contingency Awards:

Allstar Performance Fast Time Award: Brian Shirley

VP Fuel Award from Git Sideways: Brian Shirley

Swift Springs Opposing Fast Time Award: Frank Heckenast Jr

Keyser Manufacturing Hard Charger Award: Mike Mataragas

Wilwood Tough Brake Award: Kevin Deyoung

Ultrashield Non-Transfer Award: Kyle Cooper