Sheppard Flexes Muscles in Farmer City 74

Sheppard Flexes Muscles in Farmer City 74

Farmer City, Illinois (May 14, 2021) – The Mars Racing Series rolled into the Farmer City Raceway on Friday night for the 5th Annual Farmer City 74. Twenty-eight cars checked in with hopes to take home the $10,000 payday at the end of the 74-lap event. Due to Covid last year’s event was ran in the fall and split into two-nights. This spring the event was able to be ran in it’s original second weekend in May spot.

In Allstar Performance Qualifying it was New Berlin, Illinois driver Brandon Sheppard laying down the quickest lap. Taking advantage of the weekend off with the World of Outlaws, Brandon hopped in the family owned B5 machine for some Illinois bullring action. Sheppard put down a lap of 12.85 seconds as the overall fastest. In Group B Tanner English used the Riggs Motorsports 81E to lay down the fastest lap with a lap of 13.001.

After opening ceremonies things got underway with Arizona Sports Shirts Heat Race #1. Polesitter and fast qualifier Brandon Sheppard dominated for the win and a place in the redraw. Defending Mars Champion Brain Shirley finished second. Youngster Trevor Gundaker and Moweaqua, Illinois’ Shannon Babb took home the other two transfer spots.

In Heat Race #2 presented by Dirt Track Bank it was the all the “One Man Band” Dennis Erb Jr. Second place went to Mckay Wenger. Gordy Gundaker and Kolby Vandenbergh found the other two transfers into the Farmer City 74 main event.

Heat Race #3 proudly sponsored by O’Riley Auto Parts went to two-time series champion Tanner English. The polesitter won unchallenged. The driver dubbed “Top Gun” Taylor Scheffler came home in second. Mitch McGrath and Ryan Gustin also transferred into the feature event.

Bobby Pierce ran away with Hoosier Tire Midwest sponsored Heat Race #4. Sikeston, MO driver Austin Rettig came from the fourth starting spot to finish second. Veteran driver Eric Smith finished third and Batesville, AR driver Billy Moyer Jr nabbed the last transfer spots from heat race action.

It took the Racing Performance Media B-Main to settle the final starting spots for the Farmer City 74. Kevin Weaver came away with the win. Ryan Unzicker charged from the 8th starting spot to come home runner up. Chase Junghans and Mike McKinney, who ran Frank Heckenast Jr car got the final transfer spot. Jason Feger and Mike Glasscock had to rely on provisional starting spots to make the 74 lapper.

During the redraw Brandon Sheppard drew the pole and by starting up front Brandon was able to jump out to the early race lead. Early on Brian Shirley was able to battle up front with Tanner English and Bobby Pierce. But a flat tire later in the event took defending Mars champion Shirley out of the running. The track took some rubber that made it hard to pass in the late stages. Bobby Pierce would make some attempts to run down Sheppard but could not. Sheppard would win in commanding fashion with Pierce runner up.  Benton, Kentucky driver Tanner English rounded out the podium.

In victory lane Brandon thanked the Farmer City crowd for coming out and his family for preparing the B5 for him to drive over the weekend. Bobby Pierce congratulated Brandon on the win and commented he needed to be a little bit better to of challenged Brandon.

Keep up-to-date with all the news and information of the Mars Racing Series at


Fast Qualifier: Brandon Sheppard 12.85 seconds

Heat 1: Brandon Sheppard, Brian Shirley, Trevor Gundaker, Shannon Babb, Kevin Weaver, Chase Junghans, Jason Feger

Heat 2: Dennis Erb Jr, Mckay Wenger, Gordy Gundaker, Kolby Vandenbergh, Jason Wagner, Matt Mickelson, Mike Glasscock

Heat 3: Tanner English, Taylor Scheffler, Mitch McGrath, Ryan Gustin, Donny Walden, Mike Spatola, Jeffery Ledford

Heat 4: Bobby Pierce, Austin Rettig, Eric Smith, Billy Moyer Jr, Mike McKinney, Ryan Unzicker, Bill Hough

B-Main 1: Kevin Weaver, Ryan Unzicker, Chase Junghans, Mike McKinney, Mike Spatola, Jason Feger, Jeffery Ledford, Bill Hough, Jason Wagner, Donny Walden, Mike Glasscock, Matt Mickelson

Feature (74 Laps): Brandon Sheppard, Bobby Pierce, Tanner English, Dennis Erb Jr., Mckay Wenger, Gordy Gundaker, Ryan Gustin, Billy Moyer Jr, Ryan Unzicker, Shannon Babb, Eric Smith, Trevor Gundaker, Jason Feger, Kevin Weaver, Chase Junghans, Mike McKinney, Mitch McGrath, Brain Shirley, Mike Glasscock, Taylor Scheffler, Kolby Vanderbergh, Austin Rettig

Contingency Awards:

Allstar Performance Fast Time Award: Brandon Sheppard

VP Fuel Award from Git Sideways: Brandon Sheppard

Swift Springs Opposing Fast Time Award: Tanner English

Keyser Manufacturing Hard Charger Award: Ryan Unzicker

Wilwood Tough Brake Award: Brian Shirley

Ultrashield Non-Transfer Award: Mike Spatola