Robinson Repels English for MARS/Iron-Man Debut Victory at Bloomington Speedway

Robinson Repels English for MARS/Iron-Man Debut Victory at Bloomington Speedway

BLOOMINGTON, INDIANA – August 3, 2018 – The MARS Super Late Model Racing Series and the Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series presented by would visit Bloomington Speedway in Bloomington, IN on Friday evening for the track’s first Super Late Model in eleven years for the MARS Super Late Model Hall of Fame Weekend presented by JB’s Salvage event and Kent Robinson of Bloomington, IN would win a late-race duel with Tanner English to claim the victory and the $3,000 payday.

Robinson’s victory would be his second straight MARS Series victory and second career series win, while it would be his first Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series victory. The win for Robinson would come behind the wheel of his JB’s Salvage, JB’s Disposal Service, Jones Oil, Midwest Sheet Metal, Keyser Manufacturing, VP Racing Fuel sponsored #7r MB Customs Chassis powered by a Jay Dickens Race Engine.

The first start of the event would be null and void when John Clippinger slipped over the banking in turn two and the second attempted start would come back for a false start. Once the action finally got going, Tanner English would jump to the race lead, with Nick Hoffman, Kent Robinson, Devin Gilpin, and Tim Manville in pursuit. Gilpin, Hoffman, and Robinson would battle for the second position, with Billy Moyer, Jr. grabbing fifth from Manville on lap four. English would start working slower traffic, while Robinson would now give chase from the runner-up slot. As the action got tight in traffic on lap eleven, the caution would wave as Keegan Cox slid over the banking in turn four. The restart would see hold the lead, while third-place running Gilpin would charge to the outside and grab second from Robinson and take the lead from English one tour later on lap twelve. Joey Standridge would slow in turn four with motor issues to draw the next caution on lap fifteen. The restart would see Robinson drive to the lead, only to have Gilpin retake the spot exiting turn four on lap sixteen. Hoffman would slip over the banking in turn two to draw the next caution on lap seventeen and Manville, who had reclaimed the fourth position on the lap fifteen restart, would draw the next caution on the lap seventeen restart, as he would also slide over the turn two banking. The restart would see Robinson snatch the race lead away, but only for one lap, as English would again the top spot on lap eighteen, with Gilpin slipping back to third. 

As the field saw the halfway indicator, Keegan Cox would draw his second caution of the contest when he again slid over the banking in turn four and the restart would see Clippinger also draw his second caution of the event when he would stop at the top side of turn two. Back underway, English would maintain the race lead, with Robinson in hot pursuit, while Moyer, Jr. would mount a charge and take the fourth position from Michael Kloos on lap twenty-four and Moyer, Jr. would drive around Gilpin for third on lap thirty. Business would pick up for the lead at this point as Robinson dogged English and would reclaim the lead on lap thirty-three and the duo would be almost dead-even at the line to complete lap thirty-four, with Robinson having the lead. English would reclaim the top spot and lead laps thirty-five and thirty-six, only to have Robinson once again claim the top position on lap thirty-seven, with Kloos taking the third position from Moyer, Jr. on the same circuit. Robert Tincher would bring out the final caution of the event one lap later to set up a green-white-checkered finish and Robinson would lead the final two circuits to claim a popular victory in front a hometown crowd. English would finish a close second, while Kloos would come home with a third-place effort. Moyer, Jr. would settle for fourth, while Hoffman would recover from his slide over the banking on lap seventeen to finish fifth. Gilpin would lead the sixth through tenth place finishers to the checkered flag, followed by Manville (who also recovered from a caution on lap seventeen), Adam Bowman, Brad Barrow, and Dean Carpenter, who did a complete 360 degree spin on the final lap and kept going to claim the tenth position.  

The MARS Super Late Model Racing Series next event will be Saturday August 4 at Brownstown Speedway in Brownstown, IN for the track’s 14th Annual Hall of Fame Classic, paying $10,000 to win. This event will also be co-sanctioned with the Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series.

Further information on the MARS Super Late Model Racing Series and Schaeffer’s Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series can be obtained by calling Promoter/Race Director Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official website located at  

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results for MARS Super Late Model Racing Series/Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series at Bloomington Speedway in Bloomington, IN on August 3, 2018

  1. Kent Robinson-Bloomington, Ind.
  2. Tanner English-Benton, Ky.
  3. Michael Kloos-Trenton, Ill.
  4. Billy Moyer, Jr.-Batesville, Ark.
  5. Nick Hoffman-Mooresville, N.C.
  6. Devin Gilpin-Columbus, Ind.
  7. Tim Manville-St. Jacob, Ill.
  8. Adam Bowman-Seymour, Ind.
  9. Brad Barrow-Bloomington, Ind.
  10. Dean Carpenter-Coldwater, Miss.
  11. Raymond Humphrey-Bloomington, Ind.
  12. Jared Bailey-Heltonville, Ind.
  13. Randy Roth-Bentonville, Ark.
  14. Derek Bottoms-Taylorsville, Ky.
  15. Robert Tincher-French Lick, Ind.
  16. Keegan Cox-Franklin, Ind.
  17. John Clippinger-Evansville, Ind.
  18. Karlie Holt-Orleans, Ind.
  19. Jeff Roth-Bentonville, Ark.
  20. Joey Standridge-Telico Plains, Tenn.
  21. Nathan Bunch-Mitchell, Ind.

Did Not Start-Shelby Miles-Bloomington, Ind.


Time of Race: 37 minutes, 34 seconds

Margin of Victory: 1.109 seconds

Yellow Flags: 9 (1, 1 restart, 11, 15, 17, 17 restart, 21, 21 restart, 39)

Red Flags: None

Lap Leaders: Tanner English 1-11, 18-32, 35-36; Devin Gilpin 12-14, 16; Kent Robinson 15, 17, 33-34, 37-40

Entries: 22

Wiles Driveshafts Overall Top Qualifier: Tanner English 11.475 seconds

Provisional Starters: None


Heat One Finish (10 laps/all transfer)- Tanner English, Devin Gilpin, Adam Bowman, Dean Carpenter, Shelby Miles, Derek Bottoms, Nathan Bunch (DNS-Karlie Holt)


Heat Two Finish (10 laps/all transfer)- Nick Hoffman, Billy Moyer, Jr., John Clippinger, Jeff Roth, Brad Barrow, Joey Standridge, Keegan Cox


Heat Three Finish (10 laps/all transfer)- Kent Robinson, Tim Manville, Michael Kloos, Raymond Humphrey, Jared Bailey, Randy Roth, Robert Tincher


Current MARS Super Late Model Racing Series Points (after August 3, 2018)

  1. Tanner English-1,587
  2. Tim Manville-1,543
  3. Dean Carpenter-1,505
  4. Caleb Ashby-1,319
  5. Dennis Erb Jr.-962
  6. Brian Shirley-869
  7. Michael Kloos-829
  8. Brent McKinnon-820
  9. Gordy Gundaker-799
  10. David Seibers-783


Current Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series Points (after August 3, 2018)

  1. Joey Standridge-1,736
  2. Chicky Barton-896
  3. Todd Coffman-746
  4. David Payne-744
  5. Jason Jameson-740
  6. Aaron Ridley-728
  7. Connor Meade-716
  8. Ray Cook-712
  9. Caleb Ashby-625
  10. Eric Wells-584